Preparing for a Telephone Interview

GOOD NEWS – I’ve got a telephone interview!

First reaction: OMG I HAVE A TELEPHONE INTERVIEW!!

After 10 minutes: OMG….I have a telephone interview. What do I say.

I’ve been looking for a job for a while now. About 95% of my applications aren’t even responded to. 4% I get a polite rejection email explaining that after high levels of applicants I failed to meet the necessary requirements. The other 1% I get telephone interviews.

This time I’ve made it to my top 1% 🙂

Now I think about it, I hope I’m not jinxing it by writing about it.

I don’t mind telephone interviews. This could be because I’m quite happy talking to people on the phone (I used to be one of those people calling you up to complete surveys…sorry everyone).

I reckon telephone interviews are just a chance to for employers to see how confident you are. Yes, I know they give you questions and see how you deal with particular scenarios but if you sound confident, polite and positive they’ll like you no matter what you say (within in reason I suppose). They can teach you the other stuff. When you start you’ll be given protocols, a line of management to follow.

You need to make them think, yeah I could see myself working with this person. They already have your application and think you might have the required skills or they wouldn’t be phoning you.

So switch on the confidence, add a dash of humour and a sprinkle of charm and I’m sure you’ll fly through to the next stage.

And don’t worry if you embarrass yourself. It’s a phone call…..no one knows what you look like right?!

Have your say....leave me a comment!

